In Turn: My Experiences as a Non-Profit Intern #4

tumblr_m9fp0kuFv91r6vtdso1_500

I’m playing a game of telephone that I did not want to play.

There are a lot of positives to interning at a place like the Habitat for Humanity ReStore. I feel like I’m really helping Habitat get their name out there more and make profits in order to build more houses. I’m gaining good experience to put on my resume about building an online presence for a company. But the communication here sucks.

I’m not sure if it’s because one of my two bosses doesn’t actually work at the ReStore and is just on the board of Habitat or what, but it’s damn near impossible to get feedback from either one of them. It’s  like I’m playing a terrible game of telephone and I just can’t seem to get the information I need from them. I made a newsletter to send out monthly and sent it to both of them at least three weeks ago to see what they thought about it. Still no feedback from either one of them after multiple resends and asking them about it.

I think I’ve been doing a decent job with keeping content up to date though considering I still don’t have a firm grasp on exactly what events/promotions are coming up or what either one of my bosses wants publicized. I managed to pull a few dates from the manager in the store by asking him to fill out a calendar I made and sent to him, but I still feel like I’m drowning in a sea of unknown.

Any suggestions or words of advice would be greatly appreciated.

The photo is from tumblr.
2 thoughts on “In Turn: My Experiences as a Non-Profit Intern #4

  1. Internship supervisors can be totally hit or miss. Some are excited and see it as free labor but there are those out that want to see their supervisees (is that even a word?) grow and develop. Also, many people are different in their supervision styles and how they view feedback in the workplace. I know you are having a hard time touching base with your supervisors, but see if you can sit down with one or both and be able to say, “These are the things I am hoping to get out of this experience, this is the sort of feedback/communication I would like to receive, these are somethings that will make me more productive in my work place.” Hopefully you are able to make some changes and enjoy your internship!

Leave a Reply

