Adventure: Triple Thanksgiving

For the first time ever I partook in three different Thanksgivings this year, three days in a row. The first of which happened on Thanksgiving day at my aunt’s house on my mother’s side of the family. Alex and I arrived at my parent’s house with donuts to share before the ride up to my aunt’s. It was a fairly normal day with the usual characters, football, and food options. I spent most of the time on the couch watching the game and hanging out with Alex, my sister, and her boyfriend Tory.

Later that night Alex, my mom, and I ventured to Wal-Mart for pre Black Friday shopping. Apparently stores have started to encroach on Thanksgiving day with their deals. We didn’t mind too much because the video camera I wanted was going to be on sale and we didn’t have to wake up early Friday morning. With new camera in tow, Alex and I took the opportunity to drive to his parents’ house Thursday night instead of waking up early Friday. We drove separately and the drive was incredibly exhausting. We got to his parents’ house quite late and I went straight to bed, knowing how long the next day was going to be.

We woke up at 9am the next morning and began the final preparations for the second Thanksgiving with the rest of his family. I was nervous to meet Alex’s brother and sister-in-law from Virginia as well as interacting with his family (I’ve only been to his parent’s place a handful of times), but being so busy helping set everything up made things easier.

I’ve never been to such an elaborate and extravagant meal before. The tables were amazingly set, the meal detailed, and the company numerous. Alex’s family lives all over the place, so many of the guests were friends of the family they’ve gotten to know throughout their lives. It was such an amazing treat to be able to be a part of such a tradition as well as experience a dinner different from my own.

The next morning I left Alex so he could spend more time with his family and I drove back home. I met up with my parents and sister again and we drove to Frankenmuth to have one of their infamous chicken dinners with my dad’s side of the family. The meal was delicious (as it always is), but my cousins brought their very recently acquired boyfriends and none of them were good company. At least I had a blast with my parents and sister and got to eat yet another good meal.

Today I’ve spent lounging around my apartment dreading the return to classes in the morning. I hope everyone had a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

