Greek Life: Fall 2012 Recruitment

Another year flew by and I found myself back at formal recruitment. This was my second year on the “inside” of recruitment and much to my surprise it was a lot different than last year. I contribute the drastic change to my presidential status within the chapter. Plus my own recruitment was two years ago, making me feel a lot older than I actually am.

It was awesome to see all the new, excited faces of girls who wanted to join a sorority, but have no clue what it’s really all about. They talked about making new friends and getting more involved, but it won’t be for a few months until they truly understand what a sorority is really all about.

To me a sorority is a blessing, a headache, a stresser, a motivator, and an omnipresent being that makes you a better person through it all. Every year recruitment is said to be the most stressful time, and maybe that’s true to some extent, but I didn’t feel it this year. Sure the nights got lengthy, but to me it flew by leaving me feel like I only got to know a few girls.

I did manage to develop a crush on one of the potential new members. I knew the other two sororities were eying her too, but luckily she decided that my sorority would be her new home!

Recruitment brought back a lot of emotions for me. I thought a lot about my family tree and how we’re all growing up and moving on but still there for each other.

I’m also glad to have my best friend no longer a recruitment counselor so she can wear our letters again and hang out with me in public. I’m curious to see what happens in the next year and how our new girls fit into the chapter. It’s going to be an interesting rest of the semester.

Leave a Reply

