Adventure: Shooting Range

Over the long Memorial Day weekend I went to visit my sister and her long term boyfriend Tory at their apartment. After a morning of kayaking, Tory suggested going to the shooting range. He’s just weeks away from finishing the police academy and remembered how I had talked about wanting to go. So to the shooting range we went.

Terrified of the killing machine in front of me, I had to have Tory help me shoot for the first time. It was as shocking as I had expected. Determined to shoot it successfully on my own, I took some time to recover and stepped back up to the plate.

Turns out I’m actually a pretty damn good shot. This is the paper I shot by myself with all but one of the rounds landing on the page.

 

It was a really enlightening experience. I don’t think people understand how powerful and terrifying guns can be because of movies and television glorifying them to seem mundane. I am proud of myself for sticking with it and shooting on my own, but it’s not something I’d ever want to do for real.

Leave a Reply

