These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

I’ve been feeling very nostalgic and thoughtful about my life lately. Not in a negative “things were better back then” kind of way, but in a “I’m very content and at peace” sort of way. Although life can get stressful and throw challenges at me, I still have so many people and things in my life to make it wonderful. So here’s a list of a few of my favorite things that put a smile to my face:

1. Collecting Cameras

The history of photography fascinates me and I just love looking at the various cameras that emerged throughout the decades. I envision having floating shelves in my future home devoted to displaying my (small) collection.

2. Sending Letters and Postcards

There’s just something about sending a letter to someone that I absolutely love. There’s no beauty in communication anymore. If you want to talk to someone you write on their wall or send them a text. There’s no artistry or effort. Even though sending letters is a dying art, I’ll stick with it until I can no longer write.

3. Releasing Paper Lanterns

This is one of the most beautiful things I have ever witnessed. It’s silly I know, but the way the lights dance as they drift farther and farther away just touches me in a way that I can’t really describe.

4. Going on Walks

Logan and I go on our fair share of walks; one just recently where we bundled up and enjoyed the crisp February air. It’s so peaceful and quiet. We talk about anything and everything and it’s just one of those times where although nothing “exciting” is happening, you wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

5. Traveling

It’s funny because even though I’m a very reclusive, quiet person, I love traveling. All the trips I’ve taken during school have been with people I didn’t know, which has forced me have to become more outgoing and adventurous. I love seeing other cultures, experiences worlds that are different from my own, and missing home. I take home for granted and often get tired of it. Traveling allows me to see new places while at the same time make me grateful for the world I get to call my own.

What things in your life make it wonderful?

All the photos are from tumblr and are not mine
Leave a Reply

