Five Ways to Get Re-motivated: A List

So maybe it’s the weather, the fact that I’m sick, or my daily life has gotten dull, but I’ve been struggling to stay motivated lately. I know I don’t wish to continue this unproductive streak, so I’ve thought of five ways to get myself (and anyone else out there feeling like I am) re-motivated.

1. Take a Short Break

The most important part of this one is that the break doesn’t turn into a two week long break of un-productivity. If you’re struggling staying motivated or focused on a task, a short break to get up, move around, play with a pet, get some fresh air, etc. could be just what you need to regain focus. for my major (communication) I write a lot of papers, and sometimes all I need is to take a step away from the computer and do something else for a bit to regain motivation to keep working.

2. Make a To-Do List

Having a clear list of things you need to accomplish makes it easier to stay focused. The best thing about a list is there’s an ending to it, and that could be just what you need to motivate yourself to get through everything on it.

3. Finish Something

It gets frustrating and difficult to stay motivated when you have a lot of uncompleted tasks, so finish one of them. That feeling of accomplishment can really help as motivation to keep going.

4. Be Realistic in the Things You Can Accomplish

The key to staying motivated is to not overwhelm yourself. If there are just too many things to do, oftentimes nothing gets down. Keep things realistic and that alone can help keep you motivated to continue.

5. Look at What the Competition is Doing

Nothing is a better motivator than fear that your competition or peers are doing more work than you. I know that whenever I start to feel unmotivated, I think about everyone else in my field doing extra work to build their portfolios. Those thoughts push me to keep going.

What do you do to stay motivated?

.

.

All the images are from tumblr and aren’t mine ( :

One thought on “Five Ways to Get Re-motivated: A List

Leave a Reply

