The End of The 4.0

With finals in full swing and the semester drawing to a close, I have to face the facts: I will no longer have a 4.0 after this semester.

I took a mathematics course in order to fill general education requirements that I knew would prove to be difficult for me, but still I registered for the course with high hopes that I could overcome my inability to understand math. I worked my ass off, studying more than I ever have before, only to remain firmly stuck in the B range.

Don’t get me wrong, a B in an extremely weak subject is very respectable, but for me it goes deeper than that. When I decided to stay in my hometown and go to a smaller, “less impressive” university, I knew I’d get flack from my high school peers. They all headed to “big name” schools with big tuition fees attached to the name, something I could never be able to afford. I promised myself that I would prove not only to them but also myself that I chose the university I did not because I couldn’t get into anywhere better, but because I was thinking about my financial situation among other things. I needed to maintain a perfect gpa on top of being in the honors program, working two (sometimes three) jobs, and being actively involved in a sorority. I had to do it all.

I’ve also become known for my gpa. Greek Life has made me more outgoing, but I’m still pretty quiet. I had the highest gpa of all of Greek Life, something people remember. It gave a quiet girl a name that she could use so people could get to know her beyond her shyness.

I know things aren’t going to drastically change once I no longer have my 4.0, but I still kind of feel like I’ve let myself down. I know I tried my best though with the math course, and I don’t regret taking a class I knew would be challenging. I didn’t take the easy road out with a simple class just to fill the requirement. I challenged myself, and I’m better because of it.

One thought on “The End of The 4.0

  1. I think you are right, you challenged yourself and are better because of it. A perfect GPA is great, and always something to strive for, but don’t beat yourself up over this. We all have our strengths and weaknesses. I think it speak volumes about your character that you did not choose the easy way out. You continue to challenge yourself, grow and be proud of all of your accomplishments.

Leave a Reply

