What Am I Going to be When I Grow Up?

Probably like most people, I’ve gone through my fair share of career dreams as I’ve grown up. I’ve had my far fetched ones like singer and actress, and I’ve had my more realistic ones like journalist and teacher. Lately however, I’ve been struggling figuring out what I want to do once I graduate. For so long I’ve been set on journalism, but a recent revelation has made me realize I don’t particularly like talking to strangers. So a new direction is needed, and I’ve come up with a few ideas, but have yet to completely focus on one.

1. Book Publisher

Becoming a publisher is currently what I’m most interested in pursing. I’m worried that technology advances (like the Kindle and iPad) are going to shrink the industry though, so I’m keeping my options open. When I was younger I was convinced I was going to become a famous author, and now that I’m older, I have a strong desire to help other people with that same dream to be able to fulfill it.

2. Writer

I’ve always had a passion for writing, so any career that allows me room to be creative would be just up my alley. I still hope to become a published author some day, even if it’s not the career I originally work towards.

3. Interior Designer

This is one obsession I still don’t understand the root of. I’ve always loved interior design. I remember I had this box filled with paint chips and carpet samples when I was little. As seen in previous posts, I spend a lot of time online browsing images while dreaming about what my own home will look like someday. I’ve always been curious to see how I would fare if I went into interior design.

4. Graphic Designer

This goes along with my major (Communication) and would be a really good choice for me as I’ve always been interested in this aspect of public relations and advertising. I have yet to take any classes (besides History of Graphic Design) in how to create any graphic designs, so I don’t really know whether or not I’d have any skill at it.

5. Party Planner

When I was younger, I used to watch those party planning shows on television and fell in love. This is just like my interior design obsession, but isn’t as permanent as interior design. Plus I could encompass my communication major by planning parties for companies or organizations.

6. PR/Advertising Consultant


As I have just started my Communication major and just picked my focus on PR and Advertising, I’m not exactly sure what this career choice has in store. I think I’d be quite good at creating advertising for products.

7. Stay at home mother


This one is the trickiest career choice to discuss. I want children, and I want to make sure that I have an active part in their upbringing, meaning I don’t want my career to come first. If I were to become a stay at home mom, I’d be the kind that volunteers, takes part on committees, and has other jobs on the side. I could take senior photos, be a freelance writer, etc. I have no desire to become a cliche housewife whose only job in life is to spend her husband’s money.

Leave a Reply

