What a Relief

Semester grades were supposed to be posted today at 5pm. I’ve been concerned about whether or not I had managed to maintain my gpa because of a less than stellar final exam grade in my honors course and my fear about how it was going to affect the overall final grade. Plus this entire semester has been a struggle in various classes to maintain grades; definitely the hardest I’ve worked since I started college.

I was doing my usual browsing on Facebook when someone’s status revealed that we could see our grades online already. I took a deep breath and logged in to my account. A fabulous string of A’s awaited me. I could finally breath again.

I’m not trying to brag about my academic success; this is not what this post is about. It doesn’t matter what gpa or grade you strive for, just as long as you accomplish what you set out to do. For me, school has always been something I’m good at, so it makes sense that my goal was to keep my 4.0. I wanted to do it not only for myself, but for my family and for my sorority (there’s an academic ceremony among the Greek organizations coming up and I really wanted to keep a perfect gpa so my sorority could get recognized for our academic success more), so I had put a lot of pressure on myself to do well. Plus, with a large number of my high school peers at big name universities, I felt like I had something to prove. And with the work I put in this semester, I definitely proved myself.

Leave a Reply

