Top 5 Favorite Books

A few days ago it suddenly dawned on me that I created a list of my favorite movies, but failed to ever create one for my favorite books. I’ve decided to rectify the situation.

….

5. Paper Towns by John Green

I’ve been watching John Green and his brother Hank Green on YouTube for probably over a year now, and finally decided to read John Green’s novels. Paper Towns is a really great novel about finding yourself. What I love about John Green is his ability to relate to his younger teenage audience. He doesn’t simplify his messages or talk down to his readers, but rather talks to them.

….

4. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

This novel has just stuck with me over the years. There’s just something about it that keeps it on my list. Maybe the fact that it takes place within a traveling circus keeps it there, but it’s most likely the surprising love story.

….

3. Sloppy Firsts, Second Helpings, Charmed Thirds, Fourth Comings, and Perfect Fifths by Megan McCafferty

I love everything about this series from its main character Jessica Darling to the journal/diary style it’s written in. Jessica is the type of character you can’t help but try to relate to. Her quick wit, insecurity, and intelligence makes her a lovable character and A force to be reckoned with. I’ve loved this series since the first book came out, and have just discovered the 5th and final one’s existence. An Amazon order has been placed and I’m eager to start reading it to what happens to Jessica and her on again off again love interest Marcus.

….

2. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

I’ve read this novel over and over again. This is undoubtedly my favorite love story because it transcends all other love stories for me. The two characters are meant to be together so completely, and it’s actually hard for me to imagine loving someone so much that something so big as time doesn’t play a factor.  Edward and Bella have nothing on Henry and Clare.

….

1. Looking for Alaska by John Green

I love this book not only for the story, but the experience I had while reading it. I ended up staying up until 2 a.m. on vacation to finish it. I hid out in the bathroom so the light wouldn’t bother people sleeping. Just picture me sitting on the floor in a bathroom in the middle of the night crying over a book! I’ve never experienced such a range of emotions while reading. I laughed one page and cried the next. John Green became my favorite author after reading this one.

One thought on “Top 5 Favorite Books

  1. Hi Kayla
    I like your picture…..
    Thanks a lot for the beautiful cards. They are perfect (to quote you). A few words about me. I am Romanian, immigrated to Quebec 5 years ago. I have a daughter (30) and a grandson (9 months). I am English and French teacher . In my free time, I adore postcrossing, travelling (even if just virtually, sometimes), reading, watching TV, taking short walks, shopping. What about you and your family?????
    I will send you another art card (or other art cards) soon. I still have a few of them.
    I wish you a good week
    Regards
    Ruxandra

Leave a Reply

