Review: Samsung TL205 Digital Camera

I’ve wanted to get a small digital camera for some time now because it would be a lot easier to carry around than my Canon Rebel XSi. I did a bit of research, but as soon as I saw the Samsung TL205, I was hooked.

The camera is easy to use (like most simple digital cameras are), has a rechargeable battery,  a really cool screen on front, and the one I originally bought came with a free SD card (which the camera needs since it only has memory space for one to two photos without a card).

The only thing I don’t like about the camera is that the flash would automatically turn off when you use the front screen. I understand that it’s probably so people don’t blind themselves in an effort to take a new profile picture, but it’s inconvenient at times to have to turn the flash back on and retake the photo.

I thought this camera was awesome until while on vacation with my family in Florida, this started to happen.

This photo is not of my actual camera, but is a good representation of what happened to mine. It started off small at first, but then over the course of the next couple of days the darkness spread across the screen in numerous different places. Being a photographer, I treat my cameras incredibly well, so this wasn’t because I dropped it or mistreated it.

I figured it was just this one camera with the glitch, so I exchanged it for another one. Not two weeks after I received the second one the back screen did the exact same thing as the first.

I’m disappointed in this camera because I really did like the photos it took and enjoyed having the front screen. Instead of giving the TL205 a third chance, I opted for a Nikon Coolpix s3000.

Here’s hoping it doesn’t fail me as well.

Leave a Reply

