Adventure: Lying is Not One of My Strengths

This is probably a good thing in most situations, but there are times where you need to be able to talk your way out of a sketchy situation. Today an event occurred to cement the fact that I can’t come up with a decent lie off the cuff to save my life.

I was driving back from a party at a friend’s house when I passed this amazing looking vine-covered archway with a winding road that went off into what appeared to be the most outrageous gardens. Before I knew what I was doing, I was looking for a place to turn around and go back and explore. This was very unlike me. I’m not the kind of person to just spontaneously do something, which is why I failed at coming up with a good lie when the time arose. I’m usually never in those situations because I’m greatly afraid of confrontation, so I wasn’t thinking about a back story if I needed one.

The next part of the story I’m sure is going to make me look like a trespassing idiot teenager, but to my defense, while I was driving back to explore, I thought the place was an arboretum or some sort of public garden. I have driven that road a lot before, and I even now I could have sworn there was something like that there. In my excitement to find an amazing place to take photographs, I failed to notice the mailbox by the road.

As I drove farther in, it just got more and more amazing. I wanted to stop and take hundreds of pictures and spend hours there just walking around. I’m not quite sure at what point, but I suddenly got this feeling that I was not supposed to be there. As I was trying to turn around, a woman on a mower was making a b-line right for me.

This is where the failed lying comes in. I rolled down my window and the woman gave me the meanest look I have ever seen. I went for the confused “I think I’m lost!” approach and tried to pull off an innocent demeanor while rambling on about a place I was looking for that I didn’t have an address to. She was having nothing for it. I ended up concluding the failure of a story with “I’m going to call someone and find out where I need to be” and she had the last word by saying, “I think that’s a really good idea.”

The trespassing was an honest mistake on my part, but why I didn’t just tell her the truth (that I thought this was something that now I knew it clearly wasn’t) is beyond me. I think it may be because her immediate anger threw me off. I wasn’t doing anything destructive; I was admiring how beautiful the property was, but it wasn’t public property to admire.

Now that I’m reflecting back, I’ve already come up with numerous lies (as well as truths) that would have been substantially better. Oh well. That’s what I get for letting my photographic mind take over and my common sense go out the window.

3 thoughts on “Adventure: Lying is Not One of My Strengths

  1. Wait a second– were you on the road, in your car, the entire time? Technically it’s not trespassing, unless you somehow ended up on a road that was like a really long driveway through her property… And if it wasn’t marked “Private Property” or something, then you had every right to keep driving along. You didn’t know it was private property, and once you realized your mistake, you turned around. I think you can live with a clean conscious on this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

