Do You Open House?

I am still finding this hard to believe even after years of knowing: Not all Americans even know what an Open House is, let alone have them after graduation. I started to ponder on this yet again after going to three Open Houses today for other graduating seniors. In Michigan, it’s common practice to spend weeks cleaning up houses and garages in order to let a bunch of family and friends come over to celebrate a high school graduation. For the graduates, the best part is the monetary gifts given by attendees.

Yet not all states do this. Actually very few participate in the practice. I’m curious to know how many states actually do; I’m finding it’s usually those in the Midwest region.

Personally, I love Open Houses because it’s great to have one day devoted to celebrating someone’s hard work. Years of stress and effort went into getting that diploma, there needs to be something to commemorate it. Plus family that you normally see once or twice a year on major holidays have another reason to get together.

This tradition really needs to catch on. Let me know if people have Open Houses in your state; I want to find out where exactly the Open House tradition stops.

One thought on “Do You Open House?

  1. Open house graduation parties are pretty common where I live in Montana… I’m not sure about the rest of the state, but I would imagine it would be similar throughout the state. Then again, we did have the Unibomber and the Freemen… There’s also a lot of odd people in Lewistown… But that’s another story.

    As for families gathering once or twice a year for major holidays, this is disgustingly true in my family. I have an aunt and uncle who live in the same town as I do and I rarely see them between holidays. Sure, they do live across town, but it’s kind of depressing to not see relatives that live that close beyond Easter, Christmas, Thanksgiving, the 4th of July, and other major holidays I’m too tired to think of right now.

    And with that, I end this ridiculous comment in search of sleep…

    -Will

Leave a Reply

