‘Julie & Julia’ Changed My Life

I’m fairly confident with that statement.  I’ve watched enough movies over the years to know when one has had an actual impact on my life. Movies like A Walk to Remember or (500) Days of Summer, sure, but others like I-Spy or Ghost Rider, not so much. My recent Netflix Watch Instantly viewing of Julie & Julia can definitely be considered life changing.

Of course this doesn’t mean I’m going to go out and buy a duck and attempt to de-bone it. I don’t even have the faintest idea where to get a duck in the first place.

It’s not the cooking that struck home, but the conviction Julie had to cook those 524 (I think?) recipes for no other reason than to say she had done it…and to later write a book about it.

 

The relationships in the film were incredibly motivational as well. Julie’s and Julia’s marriages are easily enviable. There was nothing spectacular about them, which made them not only realistic, but more obtainable. I find that very important in films. Realism is obviously a must, but making the viewer feel as if they themselves could obtain what the characters have is vital.

Julie’s blogging can be credited for my return to Under the Microscope. Well that, and the boredom of Spring Break when the rest of Grand Blanc is in Florida. She kept at it, with or without feedback. I lost sight of why I started blogging in the first place, and Julie helped bring me back with her triumphs over crustaceans.

 

You know why this movie is brilliant? It’s a true story. This actually happened.  The blog is real and everything! That’s why this movie is so freakin’ amazing.

Julie & Julia surprised me. I was just looking for a film to pass the time, and I found a movie that’ll stick with me.

2 thoughts on “‘Julie & Julia’ Changed My Life

Leave a Reply

