Your Average Everyday Love Story: Part One

Television plays a huge role in my day to day life. It affects me so much that sometimes, when I suddenly realize that Rory Gilmore does not actually exist, it ruins the whole rest of the day. Television has altered my life in numerous ways over the years. The most notable of its impact being my perception of love.

I’ve always paid the most attention during my television watching experiences to the couples in the shows. Yeah, I notice the relationships between the good and bad guy, but that just doesn’t seem to be enough for me. Over the years I’ve seen a lot of couples that never left a lasting impression on me. The three that have left a lasting impression have completely morphed my definition of love.

 

1. Jim Halpert and Pam Beesly, The Office

Jim and Pam. Pam and Jim. Their love story is epic. It’s not one of those outlandish never-going-to-happen-in-a-million-years-once-in-a-lifetime stories, but just your average wonderful story of boy meets girl. The show itself does a wonderful job giving the viewer glimpses of their relationship, without the entire show being about them. It makes their relationship more real, as well as more amazing. 

 

2. Lorelei Gilmore and Luke Danes, Gilmore Girls

This relationship took four seasons to really take off making it much more genuine than the ones that happen right off the bat. Luke and Lorelei had their fair share of problems (a newly discovered daughter, inability to commit, etc) which takes away all the fakeness and just leaves a raw, realistic relationship between two people. I also love the fact that this isn’t a teenage love story either. Luke and Lorelei are adults with baggage trying to make it work.

 

3. Chuck Bass and Blair Waldorf, Gossip Girl

 Chuck and Blair are my favorite television couple of all time. This may seem weird since they are both known for their scheming evil ways, but that’s what makes me love them so much. They’re both flawed, selfish people, yet that’s what brings them together. They are so completely perfect for each other. Whenever they’re together in an episode, I become immediately happy, and when they’re apart, I spend the whole episode rooting for them to get back together. I can’t help but love them.

 

Who is your perfect television couple?

Leave a Reply

