A Film Addict’s Top Eleven Favorite Movies

Movies are a huge part of my life, almost to the point where I’ve begun to believe that my life is in fact a movie itself (just read Life’s Soundtrack and you’ll get a better understanding of what I’m talking about). So needless to say my movie collection is quite a large one. I’ve watched probably thousands of movies in my lifetime, so picking a Top Ten was a daunting task, and deciding to make it a Top Eleven (just to be different) didn’t make it any easier. I’m going to count them down because that seems a lot more interesting than just starting off with the #1. I’m also really big on the whole “building suspense” thing ( :

11. He’s Just Not That Into You (2008)

The way this movie brings all these seemingly different people together is amazing. Based on the novel by the same name, this movie is about love, but it approaches the topic in a whole new way. It’s also packed with stars, and the fact that Justin Long (the Mac guy) is in it just makes it oh so much better.

10. The Mummy (1999)

I remember when this movie came out eleven years ago. I was only seven at the time, but this movie became my obsession. I would watch it over and over again, but would have to cover my eyes whenever the beetles started to crawl under peoples’ skin. The sequel of The Mummy is decent enough, but the third film that came out recently really let me down.

9. (500) Days of Summer (2009)

I watched this movie for the first time a few days ago, and it immediately jumped to #8 on this list. The concept blows me away and although the ending isn’t the traditional love story ending, I was still completely satisfied by the lovely irony the conclusion had. The film’s out-of-order setup kept me engaged with the task of putting the events in chronological order, but it didn’t seem tedious. The soundtrack to this film is positively fantastic.

8. Avatar (2009)

This is another movie I’ve recently viewed, but like (500) Days of Summer, Avatar earned its place on my Top Ten list. Half-way through this movie I suddenly realized that the film was created in such a way to cause me to hate the human characters. The planet of Pandora is something that you should really see.

7. A Knight’s Tale (2001)

I realize this is an unusual movie to put on the list, but I’ve watched it so many times that it really does deserve a spot on this list. This is not going to become a classic, and I don’t think it’s won any awards, but I just really enjoy this movie.

6. Across the Universe (2007)

When this movie came out three years ago I was really hesitant to see it. I went with a couple of friends to the theater and was skeptical until the opening beach scene, and from that point on, I was hooked. The thought behind this movie is so extensive that I can’t even begin to fathom the amount of work that went into this film.

5. The Time Traveler’s Wife (2009)

The book this film is based off of is actually my favorite novel, so of course this movie would have to be somewhere on this list. The film is so beautiful and makes me cry every single time, but it’s lacking some parts from the book that I think are incredibly important to the storyline. Of course, a movie based on a book can’t have everything the book has or it’s going to be five hours long.

4. The Truman Show (1998)

I’m really quite fond of Jim Carrey (I could do without the Ace Ventura movies though), but this movie is by far his best. Everything about it makes it so different from other movies. I don’t want to ruin the plot for anyone who hasn’t seen it though, so I’m going to keep quiet. Watch it, trust me.

3. Fight Club (1999)

Another movie that just blows my mind every time I watch it. It’s different from my usual movie tastes, but it’s so interesting and raw that I could easily watch it again and again. You should too.

2. The Breakfast Club (1985)

I know just about every line to this movie. I’ve probably watched it over twenty-five times. No more justification needed to explain why this film is on the list.

1. Say Anything (1989)

It was difficult to pick a number one seeing as I love the Top Five movies about the same amount, but Say Anything is my idea of the perfect romance. Yeah, I enjoy watching A Walk to Remember and The Notebook, but I’m able to relate to this movie a lot easier. John Cusack is amazing in this movie; you can’t help but to fall instantly in love with him. The fact that it was filmed in what I find the best decade for movies makes it that much better.

Leave a comment telling me your favorite movies or your thoughts/opinions on these films!

3 thoughts on “A Film Addict’s Top Eleven Favorite Movies

  1. Um, Avatar, Fight Club, 500 Days of Summer = Agreed. So awesome.
    Next for me to see off of your list: Truman Show, Across the Universe, and Say Anything.

    John Cusack is so endearing in romantic comedies.. Serendipity is my fave to date 🙂

Leave a Reply

