I’ll Send You A Postcard When I Get There

During the summer of 2007 my mom introduced me to a project called Postcrossing, and just with the first look, I was hooked. Postcrossing explains its purpose better than I could ever attempt to:

 

“send a postcard and receive a postcard back from a random person somewhere in the world!”

 

That’s exactly what it is. It’s one of the coolest things I’ve ever been a part of. Not only is it nice to receive mail that isn’t from a college trying to take my parents’ money, but it’s also really amazing to learn about other peoples’ lives through what they write on the postcards.

Through Postcrossing, I’ve had the chance to learn a lot about different cultures. I’ve even acquired some pen pals from the service. I routinely send letters to a teenager in Finland and a woman in Austria.

 

To me, a person’s life is a mixture of thousands upon thousands of different things taken in since birth. With postcrossing, you’re able to learn about a culture different from your own while improving upon your own life, but you’re also able to discover similarities between cultures that you originally thought were completely different from your own.

 

If nothing else, you get some pretty awesome keepsakes.

 

These are just a few of over eighty postcards I’ve received over the past two years:

Happy Postcrossing!

 

One thought on “I’ll Send You A Postcard When I Get There

Leave a Reply

