Current Obsessions: 11/18/09

I’m known for going though some serious phases, but in my defense, I grew a lot as a person while trying out different interests. There are still boxes of plastic, fake food in the basement from when I was eight and obsessed with becoming a chef. Some might even say that this desire to blog is just another to add to the incredibly long list of phases I’ve gone through over the years (I really hope not). Some “phases” do indeed stick though, so here’s hoping Under the Microscope is one of them.

 

MY CURRENT OBSESSIONS:

 

1. Gossip Girl

I’m nuts about this show. Whenever Monday night rolls around, homework is ignored and all responsibilities vanish during that one hour of bliss. The clothing alone would keep me coming back week after week, but I just can’t get enough of Chuck and Blair.

 

 

2. The Selby

A post on Binky’s Alternate Reality introduced me to this website with pictures of “interesting people in their creative spaces” and now I’m hooked. For as long as I can remember I’ve been collecting materials and ideas for when I get my own personal space, and this website has so many wonderful ideas I can take and make my own.

 

 

3. How-to videos

 

If you don’t know, someone else does. YouTube has become my best friend lately as I’ve gotten more and more obsessed with learning how to do pretty much anything. Thanks to YouTube’s vast how-to library, I now know how to tie a tie, cook lasagna, and draw cartoons.

 

 

4. Audlogs

The boyfriend and I recently started recording our drives to school, adventures, etc. for no particular reason. I’m not really sure if anyone else does this, but it’s similar to vlogs (minus the video part of course). There has been some hilarious audio recordings created that’ll be interesting to listen to a few years from now. We have yet to decide what we are going to do with these recordings, but the boyfriend and I are obsessed with making them.

 

 

5. Ben Folds feat. Regina Spektor – “You Don’t Know Me”

 I used this song in my “Life’s Soundtrack” post, and to my dismay I’ve become even more obsessed with it since then (One guess what song I’m listening to right now). This song is amazing for no particular reason. It just is. It’s one of those songs that you can explain why you love it, but you know that you’re different now than you were before you heard it. Listen to it. Seriously.

 

 

6. WordPress

What I should write next is all I can think about (I’m thinking about it now even). Forget doing that silly history homework, there’s a more pressing matter at hand whether to create another “Appearances” or “Art Forms” post. I’ve become addicted to this blog, and I’m totally ok with it.

 

There are numerous others, but these are clearly leading the pack to attract the bulk of my attention.

7 thoughts on “Current Obsessions: 11/18/09

  1. Also try for how-to videos: Video Jug.

    Right now I am obsessed with anything that can distract me from all the work left to do. Breathing, eating, you know, those kinds of things.

  2. I totally agree with the YouTube obsession… the fact that I know the content of every music video is a bit embarrassing. I love that Ben Folds/Regina Spektor song, btw.

    Do you have a Delicious account? We should share. I love creative sites like The Selby – I def just tagged it 🙂

    • I’d like to spend time with Delicious and use it to its fullest potential, but I’m just too busy with school, work, and living the life of a teenager to be able to juggle all of these internet endeavours I’ve gotten myself into lately. I may get more into it in the future, but as of right now it’s just Facebook and WordPress for me ( :

  3. What a wonderful post! Such a great collection of lovely things. Ben Folds and Regina Spektor are two of my all time favorites, so it goes without saying that “You Don’t Know Me” is also a song I love.The Selby blog is also another never ending source of joy.

  4. The audlogs thing is a fantastic idea. It never occurred to me that this might just be the best way to record down a “moment”. I used to make some random videos, and it takes me right back to the moment when I made it. Way better than pictures.

    If you don’t mind, can you share what you use to make your audlogs e.g. recording, converting into digital form etc? (I’m really a noob when it comes to this)

    You’re cool — I love Gossip Girl and Regina Spektor too.

    • To make our audlogs we just use an audio recorder that has a USB that just plugs into any computer like a flashdrive. There may be other ways to hook up the recorder to a computer, but this is really simple for someone as unsavy computer wise as I am. From there WavePad Sound Editor (you can download it for free online) makes it so you can save the WAV files as mp3 files (but most computers will play WAV files anyway..but by turning them into mp3s you can put them on your iPod if you’d like)

      I’m not sure if that helped. : / just comment back if you need more information ( :

Leave a comment