Thoughts on Starbucks

From “The Ugly Truth” at bobcatbanner.com – Originally posted on June 9th, 2009

 

Hundreds of thousands of people cannot resist the Siren allure of Starbucks. With their absurdly long drink names and addictive aroma being constantly pumped into the building as well as its surrounding area by the gallons, who wouldn’t want to blow hard earned dough on a silly beverage? Starbucks sucks you in with their fancy foreign names and delightful smells. Take a second before you pull open that door and are hit with a wave of distinguishable scents. In this economy, is it better to spend $5 on a Vanilla Latté or on the gas to go anywhere?

 

 

Coffee is good, don’t get me wrong, but there’s a point when it’s just not worth it. Starbuck’s prices have crossed the line, yet people still seem to buy. It goes to show that society’s priorities are not in order when buying a Double Chocolate Chip Frappuccino is a must-do for the day.

 

 

Daily trips to Starbucks can really add up. Just one trip to Starbucks can break bank. Let’s just think before spending a perfectly good chunk of change on an Iced Caffe Mocha.

 

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Starbucks

  1. Every once in a while, I’ll hit a Starbucks, but to be honest, you won’t get fresh coffee there. It’s so much cheaper and fun to make it yourself! I’m no barista but I’ve learned how to make enough of what I like. And if you want REALLY good coffee, check out 3cups.net! Yum! I’m with you on the Starbucks thing.

  2. I see myself struggling to rationalize my spending on Starbucks quite often.
    I am a huge fan, I love their delicious chai lattes but I am really in no financial position to spend $5 a week, let alone a day on coffee.
    It really is sad how tempted I am on a regular basis to splurge on one though.

Leave a Reply

